dragon quest new mobile game

Mobile RPG to be announced January 18

Square Enix has announced that it will be unveiling yet another mobile release set within the world of the iconic franchise Dragon Quest. The as-yet-unannounced title will be showcased in a special event held on Wednesday, January 18.

While no further details were revealed at this early stage, a new teaser website and Twitter channel have been launched in Japan. According to Gematsu, the new title will be an RPG, and next week’s event will feature a gameplay overview along with a new trailer and further release details. The live stream will take place on the official Square Enix Japan YouTube channel, January 18, at 19:00 JST / 02:00 PT / 11:00 BST.

This release will be the latest in a long, long line of Dragon Quest titles released for mobile devices. These games have ranged from rereleases of Dragon Quest classics, to an abundance of free-to-play RPGs, monster trainers, and geolocation titles. Many of these modern releases have ended service within two-to-three years of launch. The most recent release in this medium, Dragon Quest Tact, launched in North America in January 2021 and remains currently operational.

We’ll soon find out whether this new release is a full premium RPG or another flash-in-the-pan F2P title.

New Dragon Quest RPG for iOS, Android to be announced on January 18 [Gematsu]

Chris Moyse

Senior Editor – Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse

Read More